Game Cookies

September 15, 2007

Australian Gaming Industry

Filed under: games, industry — nippysaurus @ 7:08 pm

I would like to write a little about the gaming industry here in Australia, and in Queensland in general.

Many of you who are interested in game development might not realize what the bigger picture is like and who is involved. I myself was quite surprised to discover the number of game development companies in Brisbane alone. Quite interesting.

Firstly I would like to draw attention to the Game Developers Association of Australia (GDAA) and to the Australian Game Developers Conference (AGDC).

The GDAA is a sort of club where developers from all around Australia can learn from each other. They also hold events for the industry and have guests from overseas.

The Australian Game Developers Conference is really just an annual event, and I think it might even be organized by the GDAA, not sure. They also don’t seem to have updated their archives since the 2004 event.

You can find relevant information on the official web sites:

I would also like to draw attention to news closer to my home, the state of Queensland. There is a web site called Queensland Games which focuses on the development efforts in Queensland for the gaming industry. They also have information like where you can story, and job opportunities. So click on over to their site and have a look:

There are also quite a few local game development companies, and apparently about 40% of the gaming industry in Australia is located in Queensland. A few of the sites mentioned above have their own list of local game development companies, but here is my own list … it is Queensland specific:

Those are the major ones, I’m keeping this list short.

I hope someone finds this information useful.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.